Traveling During Interesting Times

10419984_939442699414_6973365016867374665_n“Free Palestine, Free Palestine, 1,2,3,4 it is time to end the war, 5,6,7,8 Israel is a terrorist state,” seemed to be the chorus as we arrived in London today, looking through the window of the cab we were using to get to the hotel in the afternoon.

People marching through the Kensington Gardens area, demanding that the UN and Britain do something about the situation in Gaza. Demanding that the world pay attention to what is going on around us, even if it doesn’t directly effect us.

This isn’t something foreign to me, the situation with Israel and Palestine but I was certainly…fascinated. In Canada it is a conflict that has finally reached the attention of our news and media who up until now have been disappointingly close mouthed about everything. Racial slurs are appearing on Muslim monuments in Canada, hate speech spilling onto bus stops in Jewish communities not even twenty minutes from my house.

The fact of the matter is, this is a situation with global consequences, and my views aside there were people who expressed their disgust at the protests, something that baffled me.

We are visitors in a city where people have always been passionate about what is going on in the world, and if nothing else that should be invigorating, not something which takes away from the experience.

These protestors were not violent, they were not fighting with the police, they sat and prayed. They chanted and held their signs high. They made their voices known.

I consider this to be part of the experience with travel, not something which takes away from it. If nothing else these protestors have opened my eyes to what is going on, and given me inspiration to do more research and inform myself

Travel destroys naïveté which might just be the problem…some people prefer to remain ignorant.

This certainly didn’t deter me from my enjoyment of my arrival in London, rather it made me sit up straight and listen to the sounds of the city,

Leave a Reply

